Reviews

8.7
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.6
Comfort
8.7
Property location
9.0
Facilities
8.4
Staff
9.0
Value
8.5

Reviews

    Amy Leese
    cn

    Review score

    10
    6 October 2018

    3 days of beautiful backwaters bliss

    Tommy arranged for the boat to pick me up at the dick at my hotel. A glorious start. Itinerary was explained. All the sumptuous food is included. Such amazing Kerala delights to feast on. Each night a different location. I saw lakes river canals large and small. Everything arranged to my schedule. I selected fish and even an Ayurveda massages. The crew even helped me locate the driver at Allepay to take me onward to Varkala.
    Dominic
    nl

    Review score

    7.9
    21 July 2018
    It was very out of the way, our driver got lost many times on the way to the boarding point. But the owner was very helpful over the phone.
    Very good houseboat cruise with very attentive cook and driver. Chose to do the additional kayak trip - was very good and a very good guide too! Was nice to stop by the fish market to choose dinner. Also option to stop off for a massage (we declined).
    Stephen
    xx

    Review score

    7.5
    16 July 2018
    Bathroom was disty, smelly and could do with some updating.
    The food was amazing and the staff couldn’t have been any more helpful. One of the better looking boats.
    Anwesha
    in

    Review score

    10
    15 June 2018

    We had a romantic vacation.

    Nothing.
    The view from the houseboat was a treat to our eyes. I stayed there with my hubby. Both of us had a very romantic vacation. The cook cooks really tasty food. For breakfast we had Idly vada, omelette, fruits and tea. For lunch they served us with a traditional kerala meal. And for dinner we had chicken curry and rice. The owner of the boat was courteous.
    Kathryn
    in

    Review score

    7.5
    6 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    RAJEEVAN
    in

    Review score

    7.9
    3 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    ASHUTOSH
    in

    Review score

    9.2
    1 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Manojkumar
    in

    Review score

    7.1
    26 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Natalia
    pl

    Review score

    8.8
    17 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    hu

    Review score

    9.2
    5 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Rebecca
    gb

    Review score

    6.2
    2 April 2018

    Boat needs some love and a clean!

    The staff barely spoke any English which was uncomfortable at times. The boat is also not as depicted in the photos - those home comforts are not present and the boat is not very clean. The lower deck is where the driver sits so really you just have the upper deck and your room at your disposal - although this was fine for us.
    The boat itself was a great experience. The owner was very responsive before our stay and kindly organised us a taxi to our next destination. He also organised a short canoe trip in the morning so we could explore a bit more but in reality we didn’t go down any of the smaller backwaters (which was our hope) and instead stayed on the main waterway.
    PMcV
    gb

    Review score

    10
    18 March 2018

    Great experience

    Nothing
    Great staff, very friendly and helpful, great food, nice boat and ensuite rooms. The extra canoe trip in the evening was worth doing. Get them to pick you up as it would be tricky to find in your own taxi.
    mcasartelli
    gb

    Review score

    5.0
    22 February 2018

    Disappointed!

    Firstly, you need to know that the boat is NOT in Aleppy itself but 15km away in a hard to find location. We had an argument with our taxi driver who demanded more money from us because of this then refused to drive down the dirt road which leads to the boat, away from any others. We found it quite shabby and was expecting more. Crew of two spoke no English which made for a fairly unfriendly welcome and no communication throughout (they have to use local crew). We found the backwaters themselves well overrated and, I have to say, quite boring. Boat travels very slowly. Much of it were wide canals and lakes (see pics). Food was adequate. I think ‘amazing’ is a bit OTT to be honest, and is set. I asked for boiled egg in the morning but they said I had to have omelette (not a big deal but hey). The ONLY drink they had was local water which we had been told can be a bit dodgy. I thought this was poor. Not even orange juice! You need to buy everything toy might want before you board. If mosquitos cause you problems then don’t stay on any houseboat! We were covered in repellant but unless you want to sit in the dark then you are covered! We were in our room (good ac which comes on at 6) after we had dinner at around 7.30. Overall we were expecting much more and were sadly disappointed. My advice? Stay in a hotel and do a day cruise, these day boats looked great and I assume a fraction of the price! I just don’t see the point in sleeping on the boat as it wasn’t fun! Sorry...
    The owner/manager was extremely kind and helpful to us when he knew we were unhappy. It would have been nice to see him at the start so that he would explain the day/night to us. The boat was away from the dozens of others in Aleppy which on reflection, was a good thing. Not much else really apart from the fact that it was undoubtably a peaceful spot in India which is of course rare!
    Harish
    in

    Review score

    7.5
    21 February 2018

    All is good except food which doesnt suits to all people who comes from different places.

    Food
    Ambience
    Sonia
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    20 February 2018

    Excellent trip to explore the gorgeous backwaters of Kerala.

    A very very small recommendation would be to have someone to greet us and let us know the plan for the day and night as we were not sure what to expect and the staff on board did not seem to speak much English. This however is a very very minor thing and did not cause us much concern would still very much recommend.
    The whole experience was lovely and relaxing and the food was great. Really quiet overnight spot away from all the other boats was great. The sunrise canoe trip was also excellent.
    Prakash
    be

    Review score

    7.5
    10 May 2018
    The rooms were not clean.
    The staff were good and the food was great.
    jkarnows
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    5 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    in

    Review score

    10
    11 April 2018

    Excellent

    It was excellent my family loved it so much
    Darshan
    in

    Review score

    7.1
    6 April 2018
    The staff were not as dedicated a last time. I lost almost an hour because of their long break and lost my time in the ride
    Everything else was awesome
    Leah
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    26 March 2018

    Perfect floating getaway

    We wished they could have dropped us off at the next place we were going, which was right on the water. The dock is also a little hard to find
    The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful but not invasive. Beautiful scenery. Relaxing and comfortable trip.
Loading reviews